21 new districts created in Telangana state

21 new districts created in Telangana state

21 new districts created in Telangana state

October 12, 2016

More than two years after Telangana came into existence as India’s 29th state, the Telangana Rashtra Samiti government in the state on Tuesday carried out the biggest administrative reform, creating 21 new districts.

With this, the total number of districts in the state went up to 31 from 10, following the reorganisation process.

Telangana, carved out of Andhra Pradesh, came into existence on June 2, 2014 as the 29th state of India.

Revenue divisions and other administrative units have also been reconstituted along with the districts and 25 new revenue divisions, 125 new mandals, four new police commissionerates, 23 new police sub-divisions, 28 new circles and 91 police stations have come into existence from Tuesday.

The inauguration of the new districts across the state, coinciding with the Vijaya Dasami festival, was a grand affair with the Legislative Assembly Speaker, ministers and other dignitaries attending events organised on the occasion.

Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao cut a ribbon at the Collectorate of the new district of Siddipet, carved out of his native Medak district, at 11.13 am.

Rao, who had represented Siddipet in the undivided Andhra Pradesh Legislative assembly, was blessed by religious gurus who conducted an all-religion prayer. The chief minister also took out a rally in the town.

Recalling his association with Siddipet, Rao vowed to provide Rs 100 crore for its development.

“I wish that the people benefit more with all the administrative divisions achieving success with the blessings of god,” he said.

The reorganisation of districts would help in effective monitoring and implementation of welfare schemes, so that they reach the needy, Rao had said earlier.

The new districts are – Siddipet, Jangaon, Jayashankar, Jagtial, Warangal (Rural), Yadadri, Peddapally, Kamareddy, Sangareddy, Mancheriyal, Vikarabad, Rajanna, Asifabad, Suryapet, Kothagudem, Nirmal, Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool, Mahabubabad, Jogulamba and Medchal/Malkajgiri.

The other 10 districts are – Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Mahabubnagar, Medak, Karimnagar, Adilabad, Nizamabad, Warangal, Khammam and Nalgonda.


No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Only registered users can comment.